Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Norway Immigration, Norway Immigration Requirements

The general rule is that all foreign nationals require a visa to visit Norway. However, there are some exceptions to this requirement. Below is a list of those who do not require a visa.

SCHENGEN COUNTRIES as per the Schengen Agreement, there are no passport controls when traveling between countries which have signed up to the agreement. Citizens of these countries may therefore enter Norway freely, without having to apply for a visa. The same applies to foreign nationals who have a residence permit for one of the Schengen countries. The 15 member states are Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.  

Note: European countries such as Ireland, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom are not parties to the agreement. 

Visa Waiver Agreement :

Nationals of countries with a visa waiver may stay in Norway for up to 90 days.Visa is not required for nationals of countries with which Norway has signed a visa waiver agreement. 

The countries with which Norway has a visa waiver agreement are:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria,Belgium, Bermuda (BDTC passport), Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria,Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic,Denmark,El Salvador, Estonia,Finland, France,
Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong (SAR passport), Honduras, Hungary , celand, Ireland, Israel, Italy,Japan ,
Korean Republic,Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg,Macau (SAR passport), Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco,Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua,Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal,Romania ,San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland,
UK, Uruguay, USA ,Vatican State, Venezuela,


Certain requirements which apply to foreign nationals with a visa waiver.

Sufficient funds to cover your stay in Norway. As a rule, you have to have NOK 500 per day that you will be staying in Norway, but if you are staying with family or friends, the amount is somewhat lower
A passport that is valid for at least three months beyond the period of your stay in the Schengen area
A legal right to return to your country of origin or other country where you have a residence permit


If you are exempt from the requirement to obtain a visa for Norway, you may stay in the Schengen area for up to 90 days. You may not stay in the Schengen area for more than 90 days in the course of the past 180 days. This means that, after a stay of 90 days, you cannot re-enter the Schengen area until another 90 days has elapsed. It is your responsibility to ensure that you comply with this requirement.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.


Immigration Information