Friday, September 16, 2011

Dual Citizenship And List of Dual Citizenship Countries

Some where between 55 and 60 countries that agree to dual citizenship and about the same that do not allow it. There are different views of dual citizenship, depending on where your main citizenship is located. Some countries have no problem with it and, in some cases encouraged. A lot of countries in recent years have eased requirements for citizenship as openly welcome the citizens of other countries with dual citizenship. Many of these changes of citizenship have been economically motivated.

Dual Citizenship

Formally the U.S. does not allow dual citizenship. This is clear in the next section of the oath of U.S. citizenship.

"I hereby announce, on promise, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and reliability to any foreign prince, potentate, state or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen".

Some countries, like Canada, choose to ignore this renunciation and consider the new U.S. citizen is a citizen of Canada as well.

Why dual citizenship? For most people, it is irrelevant. For others it may be important because of different regulations on the right to work, vote, or have property rights in these countries seconds. Being a dual citizen may have beneficial effects or may create headaches double. Than being a dual citizen is right for you can not be answered by you and your situation. If you think you are a citizen of two countries is something that might work for you, check with a lawyer who specializes in this field. It is surely not a "do-it-yourself" plan.

List of Dual Citizenship Countries:

The United States of America
United Kingdom
South Africa

Other Countries

In addition to the countries mentioned above, the following countries also allow dual citizenship: Austria, Australia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Colombia, Cyprus, Dominica, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Grenada, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Russia, Serbia, Spain (only in certain cases), Sri Lanka, St. Kitts & Nevis, Switzerland, Syria, Vietnam and Western Samoa.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.


Immigration Information